Author Topic: Traction: Am I missing something?  (Read 5424 times)

Offline Carbon-Kid

• Desperately hanging on
Traction: Am I missing something?
« on: November 24, 2012, 10:00:47 PM »
Hello All...

As a MTB Newbie, I must be missing something here. My last ride out was not fun. Skidding off the track on Redgum kind of spoilt the day.

Now I am not sure if it is a position on the bike thing or setup. I ran tubeless Nobby Nic's at 32psi on the day. Normally I run less.

Is it possible that I am too far back on the bike and therefore have not enough weight on the front wheel? I do at times find the steering really light and twitchy depending on how I position myself fore/aft on the pedals.

Is there any advice anyone can offer me to determine where my traction issues lie?
My ride: Giant Trance Advanced SL0 (2012).

All my MTB videos can be found here at my Vimeo channel VarioVideoMTB.

Yes, full face helmets are hot.

Offline lard

• -=> Dave <=-
Re: Traction: Am I missing something?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2012, 10:16:26 PM »
How heavy are you?  32 seems hard.  I'm ~82kg and I run 25-28psi tubeless.   Soft =  more grip, less slip.    Also sliding out can be a result of technique.  Force yourself to look up the track more,  point your belly button where you want to go and let your bike follow.

Offline Carbon-Kid

• Desperately hanging on
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2012, 10:27:18 PM »
Thank you for the reply.

I am 6'2" and 93kg.

Normally I run the pressure around 28-30psi. But yesterday I decided to try it a bit higher. I suspect that maybe it was bit too high and I was loosing traction. I could feel the bike "skating" around. In fact I have found riding around the Park very slippery, with the trails being very loose and dusty.

Many times I have read (and been told) to point the belly button in the direction you want to go. Same as looking ahead. From a newbie position, that's easier said than done..!!! :)

Offline lard

• -=> Dave <=-