Author Topic: newbie advice  (Read 1093 times)

Offline Payno

newbie advice
« on: November 22, 2016, 01:52:22 PM »
Hi There,
First time on here - just joined.
I am a novice - bought a mountain bike earlier this year after rediscovering riding (after about 30 years!) - I have been going to Lysterfield off and on over a few months and loving it. However, I realise that Im not that good - and this really came home to me when I came off recently and hit the ground pretty hard. I stupidly assumed hitting dirt wouldn't hurt as much as the road.....Wrong!
Anyway, getting over my injuries now and want to get back into it but a little more cautious now and thinking that some lessons/skills training to find out what Im doing wrong would be a good start. Not going to let my fall put me off at all - but thinking some skills training would provide me with greater confidence as I hit the trails again. Anyone know where I get started?
Any advice or help greatly appreciated
Cheers
Chris

Online Nate

• LDTR Committee
Re: newbie advice
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 02:45:39 PM »
If you don't want to pay anything, youtube channels such as GMBN and Seth's Bike Hacks are a great resource for online stuff.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

LDTR Social Media & Head Trail Builder

Offline Stitch

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 03:40:17 PM »
See if you can track down the following DVD:
'Fundamentals. The Mountain Bike Technique Video' by Dirt Magazine' - lot of great tips and techniques from some MTB legends

Copies can be found on ebay for $5 (well, last time I looked).

Offline Brossie (Tim)

• LDTR Committee
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2016, 03:41:40 PM »
Hi Chris, before you follow Nates advice, check out his vids below his post.

In the mean time, i cant go into details yet, but in the new year LDTR will be offering skills sessions at Lysty.

Stay tuned.

Tim
Keep Rollin' Rollin' Rollin.

Offline CKaos

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2016, 03:57:14 PM »
Hey Chris,